JavaScript must be enabled in order for you to use the Site in standard view. However, it seems JavaScript is either disabled or not supported by your browser. To use standard view, enable JavaScript by changing your browser options.

| Last Updated:14/05/2024

Latest News


SEIAA SEAC Reconstituted (Sikkim)


Reconstitution of State level Environment Impact Assessment Authority (SEIAA) and State level Expert Appraisal Committee (SEAC) - Sikkim


The Government of India in consultation with Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change (MOEF&CC), in exercise of the powers conferred by Sub-section (3) of Section 3 of Environment (Protection) Act ,1986 (29 of 1986) and in pursuance of the EIA Notification 2006, has reconstituted the SEIAA and SEAC for Sikkim State through Notification# S.O.3804(E) dated 25th August 2023.



The reconstituted SEIAA for Sikkim comprise of the following members;

SN Name & Address Designation in SEIAA
1. Shri. B. S. Siktel, IFS (Retd.)
2. Dr. Laxuman Sharma, 
Professor and Head, Department of Horticulture, Sikkim University, Gangtok  
3. Chief Conservator of Forests (Environment & Soil Conservation)
Forest and Environment Department, Government of Sikkim
Member Secretary


To assist the authority, SEAC has also been reconstituted;

SN Name & Address Designation in SEAC
1. Shri. J. B. Subba, IFS (Retd.)
2. Shri. B. K. Chettri, 
Principal Chief Scientific Officer, SPCB Sikkim  
3 Shri. M. K. Pradhan, 
Chief Fire Officer (Retd.)  
4 Shri. D. G. Shrestha, 
Principal Director, Science, Technology and Climate Change, Government of Sikkim  
5 Shri. Ganesh Chandra Khanal, 
Bahai School Road, Tadong, Gangtok 
6. Conservator of Forest or Director or Additional Director (Environment & Soil Conservation)
Forest and Environment Department, Government of Sikkim
Member Secretary


The term of office is for a period of 3 (three) years from the date of publication in the official gazette. 


» See the Official Notification new 




Background: Till September 2006, the requirement of an Environment Impact  Assessment (EIA) Study for Environment Clearance (EC) was governed by the EIA Notification of 27th January 1994, issued under the Environment (Protection) Act 1986 (EPA 1986), and as amended through 4th  July 2005 (hereafter referred to as the Old EIA Notification ). The Old EIA Notification made EIA a mandatory requirement for 32 different identified activities included in Schedule –I (i.e. the List of projects requiring EC fromthe Central Government). As per the Old EIA Notification, if a specific project was listed under the categories of projects specified in Schedule- I of the Notification, EC was required from the erstwhile Ministry of Environment and Forest (MOEF), Government of India(GOI).

Subsequently, on 14th September 2006, the MOEF, in exercise of powers conferred to it by EPA 1986, and in supersession of the Old EIA Notification, (as amended) notified the New EIANotification. The New EIA Notification imposes certain restrictions and prohibitions on new projects or activities, Or on the expansion OR modernization of existing projects or activities based on their potential environment impacts as indicated in the Schedule to the Notification, being undertaken in any part of India, unless Prior Environment Clearance (PEC) had been accorded in accordance with the objectives if National Environment Policy (NEP) and the procedures specified in the Notification.


As per the New EIANotification , the Central Government (i.e. MOEF) had directed that, on and from the date of its publication, the construction of new projects/ activities OR the expansion or modernization of existing projects/ activities listed in the Schedule to the Notification entailing capacity addition with change in process and or technology shall be undertaken in any part of India only after the PEC has been obtained from the Central Government OR by the State/ Union Territory (UT) Level EIA Authority [SEIAA/ UTEIAA respectively, duly constituted by the Central Government], in accordance with the procedures specified in this Notification. In pursuance to the New EIA Notification, MOEF had constituted State Level Environment Impact Assessment Authority (SEIAA) for the State of  West Bengal (WB) on 13th  April 2007; Karnataka (KA) on 11th June 2007; Gujarat (GUJ) on 12th  June 2007; Andhra Pradesh(AP) on 4th July 2007;  Uttar Pradesh (UP) on 12th  July 2007; Meghalaya (ML) on 23rd July 2007; Himachal Pradesh (HP) on 11th  October 2007; Union Territory of Daman Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli on 11th October 2007; Punjab (PB) on 19th  November 2007; Puducherry on 13th December 2007; Jammu and Kashmir (J&K) on 8th January 2008; Madhaya Pradesh (MP) on 8thJanuary 2008; Chhattisgarh (CG) on 9th January 2008; Tamil Nadu (TN) on 3rd March 2008: Arunachal Pradesh (ArP )on 27th March 2008 Haryana (HR) on 21st  April 2008; Maharashtra (MH) 21st on  April 2008; Sikkim (SK) on 8th July 2008; Rajasthan (R), Delhi (DL) on 30th July 2008; Uttarakhand on 22nd September 2008 Orissa on 17th November 2008 Chandigarh on 21st August 2009 and Nagaland on 15th  April 2010. The SEIAA for these various States/ UTs have been undergoing reconstitution from time to time.


Courtesy of the background note: Envirotrends Regulatory Updates No. 53 of 2015